Pacts with Assam groups that gave up arms in 2012 | India News

GUWAHATI: The Centre and Assam government will sign settlement agreements with five Adivasi armed groups of the state in New Delhi on September 15.
As a precursor, Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarmaon Tuesday held a meeting with the five groups — Adivasi Cobra Military of Assam (ACMA), Adivasi People’s Army (APA), Santhali Tiger Force (STF), Birsa Commando Force (BCF) and All Adivasi National Liberation army (AANLA).
These groups surrendered their arms in 2012 and and joined the peace process. The first meeting with the government was held in 2013 in Guwahati. This will be the third instance of signing of peace agreement in the state since 2000. On January 27, 2000, a memorandum of settlement was signed between Centre, state government and four factions of the NDFB. Following the settlement, 1,615 cadres of four factions surrendered their arms and the groups were disbanded.

Source link

Leave a Comment