Former captain Dilip Tirkey files nominations for Hockey India president’s post | Hockey News

BHUBANESWAR: Hockey legend from Odisha and former captain of Indian hockey team Dilip Tirkey on Sunday filed his nomination papers for the post of the president of Hockey India.
The nomination of Tirkey was proposed by V Sunil Kumar, president of Kerala Hockey and seconded by Arun Saraswat, president of Hockey Rajasthan, said sources.
Talking to TOI over phone, the former skipper of national hockey team said he is confident of his victory as several state associations have assured their support to spearhead the Hockey India. He has also vowed to take Indian hockey to new height.
Tirkey, who made his international debut in 1995 against England and represented India in three Olympics– Atlanta (1996), Sydney (2000) and Athens (2004), has a total of 412 international caps. He has also represented India in several World Cups, Asian Games, Asia Cups and Champions Trophy.
After his retirement from international hockey in 2010, Tirkey elected to the Rajya Sabha unopposed in 2012 as one of three BJD nominees. He is currently serving as the chairman of the Odisha Hockey Promotion Council that works for development of grassroots hockey in the state. Tirkey had also played a key role when the state government had successfully hosted the Men’s Hockey World Cup in 2018.
“As a former player, I better understand the game, issues of the players, administrative issues and other aspects of hockey. I am sure I am the best option to lead the Hockey India for overall development of Indian Hockey,” Tirkey told TOI.
Born on November 24th, 1977 in Sundargarh district of Odisha, Tirkey said he has received assurance of support from several state associations like West Bengal, Assam, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram, Puducherry and others.
The Hockey India is expected to get a new president by October 9th as the International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the Committee of Administrators (CoA) of Hockey India have decided to conclude the election process of the national hockey federation by that time.
Ajay Nayak, former chief electoral officer of the government of Bihar has been appointed as the returning officer to conduct the poll while AK Majumdar has been appointed as the assistant returning officer for the purpose.

Source link

Leave a Comment