BJP horse trading: No names, mobile nos in FIR on Punjab AAP MLAs’ complaint | Chandigarh News

CHANDIGARH: The Punjab government, led by chief minister Bhagwant Mann, has convened a special session of the legislative assembly on September 22 to “clear myst (sic) regarding conspiracy to topple a democratically-elected government,” but the FIR registered on the complaint of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs is silent even on mobile numbers and names of the accused who had called them to offer Rs 25 crore each to join the BJP.
The AAP MLAs’ complaint and the resultant FIR, registered on September 14 at the state crime police station in Mohali against ‘unknown’ has been kept under wraps till now. The FIR, accessed by the TOI, was registered under Section 8 of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988; Section 171-B (giving gratification to any person with the object of inducing him) and Section 120-B (criminal conspiracy) of the Indian Penal Code.
The content of the complaint submitted by the AAP legislators to officiating DGP Gaurav Yadav as incorporated in the FIR reads, “Subject: Complaint for registration of FIR for commission of offences u/s 8 of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 and Sections 171B, 120-B of the Indian Penal Code.”
Sir, It is submitted as under 1. The complainants, as per the list attached in annexure A are elected MLAs from the Aam Aadmi Party in Punjab. 2. During the past one week, the complainants have received telephonic calls from different people who claimed themselves to be members of the Bharatiya Janata Party. The aforesaid persons, who made the calls, offered to give rupees 25 crores and ministerial posts if the complainants agree to leave Aam Aadmi Party and join the BJP. The callers claimed to be calling the complainants on the behalf of the top leadership of the BJP. They offered to make arrangements for meeting with senior leaders of their party for further discussion.
Considering the gravity of the matter, it is requested that a case FIR may be registered and investigated as mentioned above.” The complainant MLAs as per ‘Annexure A’ include Jai Kishan Rodi (MLA Garhshankar), Rupinder Happy (MLA Bassi Pathana), Sheetal Angural (MLA Jalandhar West), Raman Arora (MLA Jalandhar Central), Principal Budhram (MLA Budhlada), Kuljeet Randhawa (MLA Derabassi), Manjit Singh Bilaspur (MLA Nihal Singh Wala), Dinesh Chadha (MLA Ropar) and Master Jagseer Singh (MLA Bhucho Mandi). After getting a legal opinion from a senior law officer, the Punjab Bureau of Investigation sent the letter, along with the AAP legislators’ complaint, to the state crime police station at Mohali to register the FIR. The probe into the case has been handed over to the state vigilance bureau.

Source link

Leave a Comment